logo

title icon

Chief Electoral Officer


Ms. Shipra Verma, CPA, CA

Ms. Shipra Verma

Ms. Shipra Verma was appointed as the Chief Electoral Officer of Manitoba on July 10, 2013 by the unanimous recommendation of the Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs. She joined Elections Manitoba in 2004 and gained electoral experience in all areas of the organization. In 2009, she was appointed to the position of Deputy Chief Electoral Officer and in 2010, she took on the additional role of Acting Chief Electoral Officer.

Since joining the organization, Ms. Verma has participated in three general elections and several by-elections. In her capacity as Acting Chief Electoral Officer, she oversaw the conduct of the 2011 provincial general election, as well as the 2012 Fort Whyte by-election. Ms. Verma has also participated in international election observer programs in Ukraine and Russia.

A Chartered Accountant with credentials in Canada, the United States and India, Ms. Verma has 20 years of experience consisting of election administration, public accounting and professional services.

ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

The Chief Electoral Officer administers provincial elections to ensure they are fair and free of political influence as set out in The Elections Act and The Election Financing Act. Reporting to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, the CEO must be non-partisan and may not vote in an election.

The office of the Chief Electoral Officer (Elections Manitoba) must always be ready to conduct elections, by-elections, and referenda. Elections Manitoba enables all qualified Manitobans to vote in provincial elections by:

  • promoting voting opportunities to all voters
  • educating voters about the electoral process
  • helping registered parties, candidates, official agents and financial officers comply with election legislation

A report on the conduct of each election and annual reports about Elections Manitoba's activities are made to the Legislative Assembly and may include recommendations for legislative changes.

The Commissioner of Elections is appointed by the Chief Electoral Officer in consultation with all political parties, and is responsible for prosecuting violations of election law.

CEO Responsibilities

The office of the Chief Electoral Officer (Elections Manitoba) must always be ready to conduct elections, by-elections, and referenda. Elections Manitoba enables all qualified Manitobans to vote in provincial elections by:

  • ensuring fairness, impartiality and compliance with election law
  • promoting voting opportunities to all voters
  • educating voters about the electoral process
  • helping political parties, candidates, official agents and chief financial officers comply with election legislation
  • communicating with election officials, political parties, constituency associations, candidates, official agents and chief financial officers
  • publishing election results in the Statement of Votes

Some of these activities continue between general elections.

PAST CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICERS

Mr. Richard Balasko
Chief Electoral Officer, 1990-2010
Acting Chief Electoral Officer, 1989-1990
Mr. Richard Willis
Chief Electoral Officer, 1980-1989
email election@elections.mb.ca | phone 204-945-3225 | 1-866-628-6837

Elections Manitoba © 2016

logo

title icon

Directrice Générale des Élections


Mme Shipra Verma, CPA, CA

Ms. Shipra Verma

Mme Shipra Verma a été nommée directrice générale des élections du Manitoba le 10 juillet 2013 sur la recommandation unanime du Comité permanent des affaires législatives. Elle est entrée au service d’Élections Manitoba en 2004 et a acquis de l’expérience dans tous les domaines de l’organisme. En 2009, Mme Verma a été nommée au poste de directrice générale adjointe des élections et, en 2010, elle a assumé également le rôle de directrice générale des élections par intérim.

Depuis son entrée en fonctions, Mme Verma a participé à trois élections générales et à plusieurs élections partielles. En sa qualité de directrice générale des élections par intérim, elle a supervisé le déroulement des élections provinciales générales de 2011 et des élections partielles de Fort Whyte de 2012. Mme Verma a également participé à des programmes d’observation des élections en Ukraine et en Russie.

Comptable agréée, Mme Verma possède des titres de compétences reconnus au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Inde. Elle a aussi vingt ans d’expérience en administration électorale, en expertise comptable et en services professionnels.

RÔLES ET RESPONSABILITÉS DU DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL DES ÉLECTIONS

Le directeur général des élections est chargé d’administrer les élections provinciales et de veiller à ce qu’elles se déroulent de manière juste et sans interférence politique, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi électorale et de la Loi sur le financement des élections. Il rend compte à l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba et il ne peut ni être membre d’un parti politique, ni voter lors d’une élection.

Le Bureau du directeur général des élections (Élections Manitoba) doit être prêt en tout temps à tenir des élections, des élections partielles et des référendums. Élections Manitoba permet à tous les Manitobains admissibles de voter lors des élections provinciales en:

  • faisant connaître les possibilités de vote à tous les électeurs;
  • expliquant le processus électoral aux électeurs;
  • aidant les partis inscrits, les candidats, les agents officiels et les agents financiers à se conformer aux lois régissant les élections.

Un rapport sur la conduite de chaque élection ainsi que des rapports annuels à propos des activités d’Élections Manitoba sont présentés à l’Assemblée législative et peuvent comprendre des recommandations de modifications législatives.

Le commissaire aux élections nommé par le directeur général des élections en consultation avec les chefs de tous les partis politiques, est chargé d’intenter des poursuites en cas d’i nfraction aux lois électorales.

REPONSABILITÉS DU DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL DES ÉLECTIONS

Le Bureau du directeur général des élections (Élections Manitoba) doit être prêt à tenir des élections, des élections partielles et des référendums en tout temps. Élections Manitoba permet à tous les Manitobains admissibles de voter lors des élections provinciales en :

  • veillant à ce que les élections se déroulent de façon impartiale et juste, en conformité avec les lois électorales;
  • faisant connaître les possibilités de vote à tous les électeurs;
  • expliquant le processus électoral aux nouveaux électeurs;
  • aidant les partis politiques, les candidats, les agents officiels et les agents financiers à se conformer à la Loi sur le financement des campagnes électorales;
  • communiquant avec les fonctionnaires électoraux, les partis politiques, les associations de circonscription, les candidats, les agents officiels et les agents financiers;
  • publiant les résultats des élections dans le Relevé des suffrages.

Certaines de ces activités continuent entre deux élections générales.

ANCIENS DIRECTEURS GÉNÉRAUX DES ÉLECTIONS

Mr. Richard Balasko
Directeur général des élections, 1990- 2010
Directeur général des élections par intérim, 1989- 1990
Mr. Richard Willis
Directeur général des élections, 1980-1989
email election@elections.mb.ca | phone 204-945-3225 | 1-866-628-6837

Élections Manitoba © 2016