home
Skip to content

Elections Manitoba

Home Page

40th ANNIVERSARY OF ELECTIONS MANITOBA

November 15, 2020 marks 40 years since the establishment of Elections Manitoba, the office of Manitoba’s chief electoral officer. The office came into being through an amendment to The Elections Act, which received royal assent on July 29, 1980 and was proclaimed into force on November 15, 1980. To celebrate this milestone, Elections Manitoba has created a video timeline of the province’s election history, from 1870 to the present.

Timeline

December 27, 1870 - The first general election in the newly created province of Manitoba is held. Twenty-four Members are elected to the Legislative Assembly. Votes are cast orally at public constituency meetings. Only male British subjects who are 21 years or older and own property can vote.

July 11, 1888 - The secret ballot is used for the first time in the seventh general election.

1916 - Thanks to the efforts of Nellie McClung, the Political Equality League and others, Manitoba women become the first in Canada to be able to vote in provincial elections. It is important to note that this right only extends to British subjects over the age of 21; Indigenous women are excluded.

1931 - Indigenous people serving in the military can vote in provincial elections

1932 - Advance voting is introduced in Manitoba elections. Manitobans can now vote in provincial elections before election day.

1952 - Indigenous people with Treaty Status are now have the right to vote.

1957 - The Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission is formed as an independent body to review electoral division boundaries. The process is not subject to government or political influence, ensuring it is fair and results in effective representation for all citizens. Manitoba becomes the first province to create such a commission.

1960 - All Indigenous people now have the right to vote.

1969 - The voting age in Manitoba is lowered from 21 to 18.

November 17, 1980 - The Elections Act is given Royal Assent. The legislation creates the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (also called Elections Manitoba) as an independent, non-partisan body to deliver free and fair elections. The Elections Finances Act is given Royal Assent, and introduces advertising spending limits for parties and candidates, plus other major changes in how elections are run in Manitoba. Richard Willis is named Manitoba’s first full time chief electoral officer (CEO) and serves in the role until 1989.

1988-90 - The right to vote is expanded to patients in mental health care facilities, inmates in correctional institutions and persons with a mental disability living in an institution

1990 - Richard Balasko becomes Elections Manitoba’s second CEO. Previously deputy CEO, Balasko had been acting CEO since 1989.

2000 - Manitoba becomes the first and only province to establish a shared code of ethical conduct for political participants. The code was developed through consensus with all registered parties.

2006 - The Elections Act is re-written in plain language, making the electoral process more accessible. The option to vote at any advance voting location is introduced. Advance voting is extended to a seven-day period.

2008 - A set election date is introduced. The advance voting period is extended to eight days.

July 10, 2013 - Shipra Verma becomes the first woman to be CEO of Elections Manitoba. Shipra had been acting CEO since 2010. The Election Financing Act is rewritten in plain language and reorganized for clarity, making it easier for Manitobans to participate in the electoral process.

November 10, 2017 - The Elections Amendment Act modernizes the conduct of elections in Manitoba. The Act creates a permanent voters list, the Manitoba Voter Register. Voters in Manitoba can register and update their information online. All eligible voters receive a voter information card.

September 10, 2019 - The 42nd general election is held. 870,137 Manitobans are registered to vote

Email: election@elections.mb.ca election@elections.mb.ca | Tel 204-945-3225 204-945-3225 | Toll free 1-866-628-6837 1-866-628-6837

Elections Manitoba © 2021

Accueil
Skip to content

À cause de la COVID-19, le bureau d’Élections Manitoba sera fermé jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Pour nous contacter : elections@elections.mb.ca ou 204 945 3225 (boîte vocal). Informez-vous sur les services actuellement offerts.

Elections Manitoba

Home Page

40e ANNIVERSAIRE D’ÉLECTIONS MANITOBA

Le 15 novembre 2020 marque le 40e anniversaire de la création d’Élections Manitoba, le bureau du directeur général des élections du Manitoba. Le bureau a été créé par une modification de la Loi électorale, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 29 juillet 1980 et a été proclamée en vigueur le 15 novembre 1980. Pour souligner ce jalon, Élections Manitoba a créé une chronologie numérique de l’histoire électorale de la Province, de 1870 à aujourd’hui.

chronologie

27 décembre 1870 - La première élection générale dans la nouvelle province du Manitoba a lieu. Vingt-quatre députés sont élus à l’Assemblée législative. Les votes sont exprimés oralement lors de réunions publiques de circonscription. Seuls les sujets britanniques de 21 ans ou plus et possédant leur propre propriété peuvent voter.

11 juillet 1888 - Le scrutin secret est utilisé pour la première fois lors de la septième élection générale.

1916 - Grâce aux efforts de Nellie McClung, de la Political Equality League et d’autres personnes, les femmes du Manitoba sont les premières au Canada à pouvoir voter aux élections provinciales. Il est important de noter que ce droit ne s’applique qu’aux sujets britanniques âgés de plus de 21 ans; les femmes autochtones sont exclues.

1931 - Les populations autochtones qui servent dans l’armée peuvent voter aux élections provinciales

1932 - Le vote par anticipation devient possible dans les élections au Manitoba. Les Manitobains peuvent maintenant voter aux élections provinciales avant le jour des élections.

1952 - Les Autochtones visés par un traité ont désormais le droit de vote.

1957 - La Commission de la division électorale du Manitoba est un organisme indépendant chargé d’examiner les limites des circonscriptions électorales. Le processus n’est pas soumis à l’influence gouvernementale ou politique pour garantir son équité et la représentation efficace de tous les citoyens. Le Manitoba devient la première province à créer une telle commission.

1960 - Tous les Autochtones ont maintenant le droit de vote.

1969 - Au Manitoba, l’âge du vote passe de 21 à 18 ans.

17 novembre 1980 - La Loi électorale reçoit la sanction royale. Cette loi mène à la création du Bureau du directeur général des élections (également appelé Élections Manitoba) en tant qu’organisme indépendant et non partisan chargé d’organiser des élections libres et équitables. La Loi sur le financement des élections reçoit la sanction royale et prévoit des plafonds de dépenses publicitaires pour les partis et les candidats, ainsi que d’autres changements majeurs dans la façon dont les élections sont tenues au Manitoba. Richard Willis est nommé premier directeur général des élections du Manitoba à temps plein et il en assume le rôle jusqu’en 1989.

1988-90 - Le droit de vote est étendu aux patients des établissements de soins de santé mentale, aux détenus des établissements correctionnels et aux personnes souffrant d’un handicap mental vivant dans un établissement.

1990 - Richard Balasko devient le deuxième directeur général d’Élections Manitoba. Anciennement directeur général adjoint, Richard Balasko était directeur général par intérim depuis 1989.

2000 - Le Manitoba devient la première et la seule province à établir un code de conduite éthique commun pour les participants politiques. Le code a été élaboré par consensus avec tous les partis enregistrés.

2006 - La Loi électorale est réécrite en langage simple, rendant le processus électoral plus accessible. La possibilité de voter à n’importe quel endroit de vote par anticipation est introduite. Le vote par anticipation est prolongé à une période de sept jours.

2008 - Une date d’élection fixe est mise en place. La période de vote par anticipation est prolongée jusqu’à huit jours.

10 juillet 2013 - Shipra Verma devient la première femme directrice générale des élections au Manitoba. Elle était directrice générale des élections par intérim depuis 2010. La Loi sur le financement des élections est réécrite dans un langage simple et réorganisée par souci de clarté, ce qui facilite la participation des Manitobains au processus électoral.

10 novembre 2017 - La Loi modifiant la Loi électorale modernise la conduite des élections au Manitoba. La Loi crée une liste électorale permanente, le registre des électeurs du Manitoba. Les électeurs du Manitoba peuvent s’inscrire et mettre à jour leurs renseignements en ligne. Tous les électeurs admissibles reçoivent une carte d’information de l’électeur.

10 septembre 2019 - La 42e élection générale a lieu. 870 137 Manitobains sont inscrits pour voter.

Courriel : election@elections.mb.ca election@elections.mb.ca | Phone Elections Manitoba 204-945-3225 | Sans frais au Canada et aux ÉU 1-866-628-6837

Élections Manitoba © 2021